Visa Waiver Program

Under the Visa Waiver Program (VWP), holders of passports from the following countries may travel to the United States without a visa if the purpose of the trip is tourism and/or business AND the visit will be 90 days or less:

Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, The Netherlands, The Republic of Korea, The Slovak Republic, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The United Kingdom.

Persons traveling on Canadian passports can visit the U.S. for tourism or business without a visa. Canadian passport holders do not need a round trip ticket and may arrive in the U.S. by any form of conveyance. The length of stay permitted Canadian passport holders is determined at the port of entry.

Effective March 17, 2003 Trinidad & Tobago nationals residing in Canada will be required to present a valid visa and passport for entry into the United States.

All Others

Passport holders from a country other than the ones listed above must obtain a visa for travel to the United States.

  • Travel must be made by commercial airline or steamship line using a return or ongoing  ticket.
  • Persons arriving by private yacht cannot use the waiver program and must obtain a visa.
  • Persons who have been denied U.S. visas or who have been deported or denied entry into the United States or who have been arrested or convicted of any offense in any country cannot use the waiver and must apply for a visa.
  • All visa waiver participants must present a machine-readable passport. Previous one-time exemptions for first-time visa waiver program travelers without machine readable passports ended June 26, 2005.  Effective October 26, 2004.
  • All newly issued machine-readable passports must have a digitized photograph on the data page or an integrated chip with information from the data page.  Effective October 26, 2005.
  • All newly issued machine-readable passports must have an integrated chip with information from the data page (e-passport).  Effective October 26, 2006 The following link provides additional information regarding the Visa Waiver Program
  • Effective January 12, 2009 Visa Waiver Program (VWP) travelers will be required to obtain a travel authorization via the Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) prior to boarding a carrier to travel by air or sea to the U.S. under the VWP. ESTA is now accessible online at for citizens and eligible nationals of VWP countries. More information on the Electronic System for Travel Authorization can be found at Answers to questions regarding ESTA may be found by going to, clicking on the “Find an Answer, Ask a Question” section and typing “ESTA” as a keyword. Or click on the “Ask a Question” tab at the top of the page.

Applicants may also find a list of FAQs on the ESTA website at

Applicants with technical questions or general ESTA inquiries should contact the CBP Customer Service Center at (703)-526-4200, open weekdays, 8:30-5:00 EST.