An official website of the United States government

Submit your absentee ballot now in these special elections for Federal Office
March 4, 2021

Submit your absentee ballot now in these special elections for federal office:

The following states have elections in the next 90 days:

March 20, 2021: Louisiana Special Primary Elections in U.S. Congressional Districts 2* and 5**

May 1, 2021: Texas Special Election in U.S. Congressional District 6***

Service members, eligible family members, and overseas citizens who are registering to vote for the first time can use the automated Federal Post Card Application (FPCA) completion tool available at fvap.gov/FPCA, or use the fillable PDF version. Voters must submit a completed and signed FPCA to their local election office by the state’s voter registration deadline.

Vote your absentee ballot as soon as you get it, and be sure to carefully follow the state’s completion instructions and sign the voted ballot package as indicated when returning it. To save time, you may be able to return your voted ballot electronically if allowed by state law. Check if your state can accept completed absentee ballots by email, fax, or online at fvap.gov/guide.

If you requested your ballot, but haven’t received it in time to return by the ballot deadline, use the Federal Write-In Absentee Ballot (FWAB) as a backup ballot. If your official absentee ballot arrives after sending in the FWAB, you may complete and submit the official ballot too. Only one ballot will be counted per voter.

You can verify the voted ballot is received by contacting your election office for status updates. To find your state’s election website for specific information on candidates, elections, contact information, registration, and links to your local election office, visit fvap.gov/search-offices.

*Louisiana Congressional District 2 includes all of St. James Parish and portions of the following parishes: Ascension, Assumption, East Baton Rouge, Iberville, Jefferson, Orleans, St. Charles, St. John the Baptist and West Baton Rouge.

**Louisiana Congressional District 5 includes all of the following parishes: Avoyelles, Caldwell, Catahoula, Concordia, East Carroll, Franklin, Grant, Jackson, La Salle, Lincoln, Madison, Morehouse, Ouachita, Rapides, Richland, Tensas, Washington, West Carroll, West Feliciana, and Winn Parishes, and portions of the following parishes: East Feliciana, St. Helena, St. Landry and Tangipahoa.

***Texas Congressional District 6 includes Ellis and Navarro counties and a portion of Tarrant County.

The Department of Defense is required to send this email notification starting 90 days before each election for federal office. This information is current as of March 1, 2021. As updates occur, please check the election calendars and state pages at FVAP.gov for real-time information.

If you would like more information on the Federal Voting Assistance Program, or need help with the absentee voting process, please go to FVAP.gov, call 703-588-1584 (toll free 1-800-438-VOTE or DSN 425-1584), or email (vote@fvap.gov).